Rama Chellapa Headshot

Rama Chellappa

Chief Scientist

Professor Rama Chellappa is a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor in the Departments of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Biomedical Engineering with a secondary appointment in the Department of Computer Science at Johns Hopkins University (JHU). At JHU, he is affiliated with the Institute for Assured Autonomy (IAA), Center for Imaging Science (CIS), Center for Language and Speech Processing (CLSP), Malone Center, and the Mathematical Institute for Data Science (MINDS).

Before coming to JHU in August 2020, he was a Distinguished University Professor, a Minta Martin Professor of Engineering, and a Professor in the ECE department and the University of Maryland Institute Advanced Computer Studies at the University of Maryland.  He holds a non-tenure position as a College Park Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Maryland.

His current researcher interests are computer vision, pattern recognition, machine intelligence and artificial intelligence. He received the K. S. Fu Prize from the International Association of Pattern Recognition (IAPR). He is a recipient of the Society, Technical Achievement, and Meritorious Service Awards from the IEEE Signal Processing Society and four IBM Faculty Development Awards. He also received the Technical Achievement and Meritorious Service Awards from the IEEE Computer Society. He received the Inaugural Leadership Award from the IEEE Biometrics Council and the 2020 IEEE Jack S. Kilby Medal for Signal Processing. At the University of Maryland, he received college and university level recognitions for research, teaching, innovation, and mentoring of undergraduate students. He has been recognized as an Outstanding ECE by Purdue University and as a Distinguished Alumni by the Indian Institute of Science, India. He served as the Editor-in-Chief of PAMI. He is a Golden Core Member of the IEEE Computer Society, served as a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Signal Processing Society and as the President of the IEEE Biometrics Council. He is a Fellow of AAAI, AAAS, ACM, IAPR, IEEE, NAI, and OSA and holds eight patents.